Reflective Essay

Rawlonda Arthur
3 min readDec 5, 2023

--

I worked on three main assignments this semester: the Job Application Package, the E-Newsletter Article Assignment, and the Basic Rhetorical Analysis. Each project presented different challenges and chances for improvement, that added to my developing understanding of technical communication.I had to analyze a textual poster for the Basic Rhetorical Analysis assignment, so I chose a suicide prevention poster from the Howard University campus. This was not a random decision; instead, it was the result of my own passion for mental health advocacy. I was drawn in by the poster’s powerful message, “CHECK ON YOUR STRONG FRIENDS TOO!” and decided to do an in-depth review. My goal was to assess how well the document communicated with college students, the intended audience. The poster’s design, use of images, tone, and adherence to important parts of effective technical communication were the primary focus of the analysis.

Furthermore, for the E-Newsletter assignment I talked about the mental health issues that student-athletes face. By looking into the world of digital media I wrote an informative and supportive essay that was motivated by an honest concern for my peers’ welfare and mental health. My approach was influenced by the overlap of my digital media literacy coursework and the topic of mental health among student-athletes. I used my knowledge of communication theory and digital media literacy to promote awareness and support networks.Lastly, I was inspired to properly market myself for a potential internship by the Job Application Package, a task that was both career-oriented and practical. My application to the Brennan Center for Justice was a deliberate attempt at communication as much as a submission. The writing sample, resume, and cover letter were all carefully chosen to meet the standards and values of the company. With the help of this assignment, I was able to combine my academic background, relevant coursework, and personal story to create a more effective and grammatically correct resume.

Moreover, when I think back on my writing career, I can see that I’m best at telling compelling stories in a straightforward manner. The variety of assignments to me showed my ability to adapt my writing to different audiences. I do admit that I could be clearer though, as there are times when I give more information than is needed. This reflective exercise shows how much I’ve learned about the details of technical writing, including when to be formal or informal, brief or detailed, and versatile in my approach to various rhetorical cases. The more I get ready to enter the professional world, the more I realize how important technical writing is for telling stories and getting information across. My understanding of the strategic role writing plays in securing opportunities has grown, especially as a result of the internship application process. It emphasized the significance of matching personal values with organizational goals in addition to showcasing skills — a lesson that will carry over from this course into my future endeavors.

To sum up, these significant assignments have helped me refine my technical writing abilities. Every assignment I completed, whether it was breaking down the tools of rhetoric, creating empathetic stories, or carefully organizing my application for an internship, helped me grow. I have a greater understanding of the complex nature of technical writing and its essential role in my academic work as I wrap up this semester.

--

--